Geneva1        Genevatext   
Fiji 240-animated-flag-gifs 1   


The Parliament of the Republic of Fiji is a unicameral legislature comprising 50 members elected by an open-list proportional representation in one multi-member nationwide constituency.

After 96 years of British rule, Fiji gained independence and established itself as a parliamentary democracy in 1970. Fiji adopted a bicameral Westminster Model parliamentary system and held the first general election based on a cross-voting system in 1972. After several military coups, a new constitution – the Constitution of the Republic of Fiji – was developed in 2013 and elections were held in September 2014 to select Members for a new Parliament. The new Parliament opened on 6 October, 2014.

For more information, please refer to the website of the Parliament of the Republic of Fiji here.

Suva, Fiji